In 2021, Reuters reported that 12 state governors had sent a letter to President Biden urging him to “end sales of new gasoline vehicles by 2035.” Those states were California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Washington. Four of those states, along with Maine, Vermont, and Virginia, have enacted their own laws to go down that road. That he could be next state in New Jersey, her fifth state in the 2021 cohort. Governor Phil Murphy has issued three executive orders.one of which has adopted California’s Advanced Clean Cars II (ACCII) directive, which means the sale of 100% zero-emission cars and light trucks from 2035.
Vehicle regulations are accompanied by additional state and other energy use regulations. The governor says he wants 100% of his state’s energy to come from clean sources by 2035, by which time he will have 400,000 homes and 20,000 commercial properties. ZERO IN FACILITIES He hopes to install a carbon HVAC system, and 10% of his low-to-middle income properties by 2030. The New Jersey Sierra Club said his 12-year timetable for the first two royal decrees puts him 15 years behind the state’s previous timeline for transitioning to zero carbon.
There are many rules and refinements that New Jersey will create on its way to its goal. at this point Basic ACCII rules It does not outline the range and performance requirements that EVs must offer customers in 2035.on California ACCII FAQ PageThe answer to the question of whether zero-emission vehicles can ‘go where you want to go’ is open-ended: ‘New battery-electric vehicles typically have a range of 200 miles or more, which meets most people’s daily driving needs. If you need to go further, public DC fast chargers are now widely available in California and the United States.”
But when Oregon adopted the rule, pure electric vehicles had to have at least 150 miles of real-world range on a single charge, had to have fast-charging capabilities, and had a standard 20-foot range. It included the detail that it came with a charging cable of length. Must be able to handle Level 2 charges and meet the “Minimum Warranty and Durability Requirements”. The major Oregon-mandated battery warranty matches many already advertised, such as an 8-year warranty period or 100,000 miles and 80% capacity remaining at the end of that period. Plug-in hybrids must have an EPA-rated all-electric mileage of at least 50 miles and have a 15-year or 150,000-mile extended warranty on emissions-related components, with similar charging capabilities, inlets, and It should include a charging code like ZEV.” Also, the manufacturer must provide repair information and all necessary maintenance tools to the non-dealer shop. Note that dealers offering low-income assistance programs are required to obtain a supply of used EVs, and community carshare programs offer manufacturer incentives to help acquire EVs.
Our guess is that New Jersey will make similar clarifications as the deadline approaches, assuming the state maintains its policy.$70 million It will reduce consumer upfront costs for adopting medium and heavy duty EVs,” which could come in the form of state incentives.